Watch Farley Granger in “Celluloid Closet”

We lost the actor Farley Granger a couple days ago, to natural causes, and of course it means people will be revisiting his films in memory. The likely top picks will be his Hitchcock classics, “Strangers on a Train” and “Rope,” but for me “Celluloid Closet” was the immediate place to go. It’s a brief appearance, I think his last on screen, as he talks about “Rope,” a scene from which is also featured.

He shows up around the 0:45 mark in the clip below:

 

I don’t recall him showing up again after that, but the film is worth watching all the way through to find out. I especially love the score, which I rarely think about during documentaries.

 

About Christopher Campbell
I am a blogger for Documentary Channel and Movies.com, where I write the Doc Talk column. I prefer real stories to fake ones. I tweet here: @thefilmcynic

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

