Doc News: “Being Elmo” Hits Theaters October 21 (Plus Two Cute New Teasers)

Back in May, Submarine Entertainment announced it would release Constance Marks’ cute and heartwarming Kevin Clash profile, “Being Elmo: A Puppeteer’s Journey,” this fall for an Oscar-qualifying run before quickly hitting DVD and then PBS. Now the distributor has unveiled its theatrical strategy, and it appears to be a more substantial run than previously hinted at. There’s a possibility the doc’s ongoing acclaim and festival success (including recent wins in Traverse City and Nantucket) got Submarine thinking bigger, so following an October 21 bow at NYC’s IFC Center, they will take it around the U.S. through November and December. For already booked dates/cinemas head over to /Film.

After seeing the film at Sundance, I wrote the following in my Cinematical recap:

Many Sundance attendees fell for Special Jury winner ‘Being Elmo: A Puppeteer’s Journey,’ but it’s probably too short and simple to be a substantial theatrical title. And while kids seemed to enjoy it out in Park City, I don’t know that a documentary about the guy who operates their favorite Muppet is as appealing as simply watching ‘Sesame Street’ or an Elmo home video.

I still think it’s worth waiting for the small screen options on this one, though New Yorkers might want to check it out earlier at the Museum of the Moving Image on September 25, as part of the screenings in conjunction with the current Jim Henson’s Fantastic World exhibit. Clash (with Elmo) and Marks will be in person for that. From what I can tell, it’s a better film if you get to meet the little red Muppet afterward, which I missed out on.

Below are two new videos advertising the doc’s April 2012 premiere on PBS’ “Independent Lens” series. I love Elmo’s answer about his favorite food. Reminds me of his recent guest appearance on “Top Chef.”

 

 

About Christopher Campbell
I am a blogger for Documentary Channel and Movies.com, where I write the Doc Talk column. I prefer real stories to fake ones. I tweet here: @thefilmcynic

Leave a comment