Follow My Doc Blogging on Documentary Channel Blog

About a week ago I softly launched a blog for Documentary Channel, now to be simply referred to as Documentary Channel Blog (but you can call it DOC Blog or Doc Channel Blog  if you wish). There I am writing about documentary news and rounding up other links related to nonfiction film, just as I was doing here at my personal Nothing But the Doc blog. Due to the overlap, I am going to put this here blog on hold for the time being. Documentary Channel Blog will not feature doc criticism, but you can still find that on a regular basis over at Spout, where I write on fiction and nonfiction alike. You can also continue reading my Doc Talk column at Movies.com every other week.

I’d like to direct fans of this young blog over to Documentary Channel Blog this week on the eve of the Toronto International Film Festival, from which I will be filing interviews with filmmakers and subjects where I’m able, while also reviewing films for Movies.com and Spout. I hope you all like and continue supporting my attempt to shed more light on the documentary form through the various outlets I am lucky enough to write for. Maybe one day I can even keep Nothing But the Doc running heavily along with the others.

P.S. If you don’t have DirecTV or Dish Network and so can’t get Documentary Channel, write your cable provider and ask for them to carry it.

About Christopher Campbell
I am a blogger for Documentary Channel and Movies.com, where I write the Doc Talk column. I prefer real stories to fake ones. I tweet here: @thefilmcynic

One Response to Follow My Doc Blogging on Documentary Channel Blog

  1. Joe Lipstein says:

    Hello!

    I recently produced and directed a Short-Documentary on a coffee shop, Big E’s, that was forced to close thanks to a perfect storm of Starbucks and the landlord. Eric Hamilton started Big e’s 12 years ago with one thought in mind “Compassionate capitalism” as he calls it, and that is exactly what developed. A Big E’s family and culture soon developed, anyone and everyone was invited and welcome to feel comfortable. At an interesting juncture in Sarasota, the wealthy indian beach side, and the less fortunate inhabitants of MLK rests Big E’s home to all. I encourage you to watch the documentary, for I feel it is a story that must be told, the sacrifices Eric made for this place to stay alive are insurmountable… He’s lost his house, picked up a full time job working for a corporation just to keep his dream alive.

    LINK: https://vimeo.com/150460092

Leave a comment